Garlic and Herb Monkey Bread

mbread1.jpg 

I made this bread for Bread Baking Day # 6: Shaped Bread, hosted by Eva at Sweet Sins. It was a lot of fun and the finished product was absolutely incredible. I love love LOVE garlic and had some cloves left over from another baking challenge, so I decided to go with it again. I had also never made monkey bread before, and had only tasted sweet monkey bread, so I was excited to make something savory. I also chose this recipe because it used rosemary, and we have TONS of fresh rosemary hanging around the house.

After cooking the bread, I realized, oh my gosh, this also qualifies for the Think Spice …. Think Garlic! hosted by Sunita at Sunita’s World. Even though I had already contributed to that challenge, I thought I would go ahead and post for it, because this bread is definitely garlicy.

mbread2.jpg

I’m still a little green when it comes to bread making, so the whole process felt kind of like some magic act or exploration into the unkown where I had NO idea what would happen. Like some kind of crazy science experiment, I guess, which when you get right down to it, baking really is all science.

I doubled the recipe because (1) I didn’t know how it was going to turn out the first time around (2) I already had to buy lots of herbs, so why not use them, and (3) I just wanted more! I ended up giving the first loaf to my parents, after Jay and I sampled about half of it to make sure it tasted ok. In the end I’m glad I made two recipes, because I realized that I needed to cook the bread longer than suggested in the recipe, and the first loaf didn’t come out 100% done. It was still super good!

I also had lots of fun cutting out the pieces of bread and arranging them in the loaf pan. I might have used too much melted butter at this point, which is why the bread took longer to bake, but in the end it didn’t really matter. In fact, I think all that butter probably made the bread taste better!

Although the bread was savory, and very, very garlicy, there was a subtle sweetness to the dough as well. The bread was also surprisingly addicting, and every time I told myself, “Ok, just one bight,” I ended up having a ton. I had to give away some of it to my good friends Corinne and Mike because I didn’t want all that bread laying around, but in reviewing the pictures to get ready for this post, I definitely wish I had some around.

According to the recipe, this bread freezes really well, so if you do end up making a lot, you can save some for later. I wish I had!

mbread4.jpg

Garlic and Herb Monkey Bread
(original recipe Neiman Marcus Taste)

Ingredients:
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon active dry yeast (1 1/2 packages)
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unlater butter, melted, plus additional butter for the loaf pan
1/4 cup Roasted Garlic Puree (see recipe below)
1 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper
1 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary
1 teaspoon minced fresh thyme
1 teaspoon minced fresh parsley
1 teaspoon minced fresh chives
3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, sifted

Method:
Pour the milk into a saucepan and set over medium heat for 2 to 3 minutes, or until lukewarm (but not hot), about 110 degrees. Transfer the warm milk to the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Add the yeast and a punch of the sugar and let stand for 5 minutes, until the yeast is dissolved. Add the remaining sugar, the salt, and 1/2 cup of the melter butter. Add the roasted garlic, pepper, and fresh herbs and, with the mixer running on low speed, slowly add the flour, mixing for 2 or 3 minutes, until a soft dough forms. Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl, turn the dough to coat, and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise in a wam place for about 1 hour, or until doubled in volume.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter a loaf pan (preferably measuring 8 by 4 by 2 inches).

Punch down the dough and turn out onto a lightly floured surface. Using your fingertips, spread the dough to a 1/4-inch thickness. Place the remaining 1/2 cup melter butter in a shallow bowl. With a pizza cutter or a charp knife, cut the dough into 1 by 2-inch pieces. Dip each piece of dough into the melted butter and arrange upright (long side up) in the prepared loaf pan. Start by leaning the pieces up against one end of the pan and then continue nestling the strips together so they support and abut one another.

mbread5.jpg

Let rise in a warm place, covered with a damp towel, for 20 to 30 minutes, or until the dough reaches the top of the loaf pan. Transfer to the oven and bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown. (Note: I cooked mine for at least 30 minuts, probably closer to 40. Not only did it take longer for the top to brown, but it was not cooked all the way through.) Brush the top again with any leftover butter.

Chef’s Note: This bread freezes well after baking. Defrost slowly and heat in a 325 degree oven for 10 to 15 minutes, until hot and crusty.

Roasted Garlic Puree

Ingredients:
1 large head garlic, or 2-3 small ones

Method:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cut the garlic in half horizontally and wrap both halves in foil. Place in a small baking dish and transfer to the oven. Roast for 45 minutes. Unwrap the garlic and squeeze out the roasted cloves into a bowl. Let cool and reserve in an airtight container in teh refrigerator.

mbread6.jpg

5 Responses to “Garlic and Herb Monkey Bread”


  1. 1 sydneyblue January 19, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Wow, this looks delicious! I’ve never heard of monkey bread before, but I’d love to have some prepared and frozen and ready to heat up in my freezer.

  2. 2 aud2093 February 16, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Hi Sydney,

    I have a great recipe for what I consider to be “traditional” monkey bread. My Mom used to make it sometimes on Sunday mornings. Here goes:

    Ingredients:
    2 Packages refrigerated biscuits
    3/4 cup melted butter or margarine
    3/4 cup sugar
    1 Tablespoon of cinnamon
    1 – 2 Teaspoons of powdered confectioner’s sugar

    Directions:

    Preheat oven to 425 degrees Farenheit.

    Mix cinnamon and sugar in a bowl. Cut biscuits in halves or quarters. Dredge biscuit pieces through melted butter, then dredge through cinnamon & sugar mixture. Layer the bottom of a bundt-cake pan, or 9×12 pyrex pan. Bake at 425 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes. Let stand 5 minutes, then turn monkey bread out onto a serving plate and sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar.

    An elegant and tasty addition to a Sunday morning breakfast!

    – John

  3. 3 eatmedelicious April 1, 2008 at 7:15 am

    I’ve been wanting to make monkey bread for a while and wow this savory version looks and sounds so good!!

  4. 4 pam i am July 5, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    I remember my mom making “fancy” Sunday dinners with roast beef or chicken, garlic monkey bread, and cinnamon monkey bread for dessert. I’m going to make a batch tomorrow with the fresh herbs from the garden. You’re technique looks like it will work really well.


  1. 1 Fresh Ginger » Death by garlic herb monkey bread Trackback on February 18, 2008 at 6:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

