Grilled Peaches and White Balsamic Syrup

I was feeling adventurous today after lunch and wanted a little bit more than just a piece of fruit as my sweet fix, so I decided to try something out.

The other day I bought some white peaches, so I thought I would grill those. I wanted to put something on them other than just sugar or honey, so I decided to make a syrup. I remember watching Giada de Laurentis make a balsamic syrup by reducing it down and adding sugar, but I didn’t want that much potency in my syrup. Then I remembered I had some white balsamic vinegar left over from another dessert, and I made up my mind of what to do:

White Balsamic Vinegar Syrup
1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar
2 Tbs sugar
squeeze honey

First, combine vinegar and sugar (I used Splenda and it turned out great) in a small saucepan over high heat. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to low and simmer, letting the mixture thicken. I’m not too good on the time here, because I was watching TV at the same time, but I think it was around 10 minutes (the heat was pretty low). After mixture has reduced, raise heat to medium-low and add a squeeze of honey (the honey we have comes in a squeeze bottle, it might have been 1/2-1 tsp). Continue to cook for another 5 minutes or so.

I cut the peaches in half and grilled them on the grill pan. I don’t really remember how long they cooked (remember, tv), but I basically seared the cut side on the really hot pan and then cooked the skin side on a little lower heat for a little longer.

After the peaches were ready, I drizzled the white balsamic syrup over them:

peachbvr.jpg

The syrup was excellent. It was sweet, but the white balsamic added a saltiness and a warmth that kept the syrup from being too sweet and too bland. After sharing this peach, my husband grilled another for us to eat with the remaining syrup/peach juice on the plate. Needless to say, this is a recipe that will be used again and again.

 By: Jenny

1 Response to “Grilled Peaches and White Balsamic Syrup”


  1. 1 vclicquot August 13, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    try grilling watermellion and tossing on a chunk of feta or goats milk cheese while its still grilling. yum.


Leave a Reply

Categories

August 2007
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

