Broiled Flounder with Salsa

Recently I bought Rick Stein’s Complete Seafood cookbook, full of great pictures and good looking recipes. At least half of the book is also devoted to technique, which is very good for those unskilled (like me) in things like fileting fish, cooking mussels, squid, etc. The techniques also cross-reference the recipes, so you can actually use the techniques he discusses.

I bought the cookbook because I wanted to cook a whole fish, but I am still trying to figure out where I can actually buy a whole fish here in Little Rock. So, with a sigh, I had to settle for cooking already cut fish. Everything looked so good, and I couldn’t decide what to make, so I went with my favorite decision-making tool: letting my husband decide. He decided on broiled flounder with toasted tortillas and salsa.

For the flounder, I made an easy marinade with paprika, cumin, lemon juice, garlic and salt and pepper, and let it sit at room temp for about 2o minutes. The recipe for the salsa called for tomatoes, red chilli peppers (I used jalapenos because we couldn’t find red chillis), red onion, lemon juice and cilantro, but I added some grilled corn left over from the other night. The salsa was light and refreshing and down-right delicious, and I could have eaten it for my entire meal.

 I cooked the flounder under the broiler for around 7 or 8 minutes. The recipe said 3-4, but our gas broiler is a little slow. I also might have had the fish too far away from the broiler. While the fish was good, I’m not sure if I cooked it long enough (although it flaked away very easily) because it was too oily and watery. Combined with the tortilla and salsa the fish tasted fine, but it basically served as a base for everything else. On its own, however, the fish was not flavorful.

I am not discourage from cooking from this book, and a lot of this could be attributed to cook’s error, but I doubt I will try to make this again. When I cook seafood, I want the seafood to be the star, but here it took a second-hand role to a really good salsa.

0 Responses to “Broiled Flounder with Salsa”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

August 2007
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

