Trout with Shitake Mushrooms and Veggies, and Caprese

 (Note: I am publishing this two weeks after making it. There are a couple of things I meant to add, but honestly I don’t remember them. Nevertheless, I wrote this soon after I cooked it, so what I have written was fresh on my mind). 

Sunday night! That means it’s time for me to cook. Up tonight is a baked trout topped with shitake mushrooms, tomator, green onions, garlic, ginger, soy sauce and sesame oil. Recipe courtesy September 2007 Bon Appetit.

ingredients.jpgtrout.jpg

The only hard part about this dinner was figuring out what side dish to make. I looked through the magazines, but nothing looked good enough, or if it looked good enough it was loaded with oil or had some other protein in it (like shrimp), which I just didn’t want on top of fish. I found a recipe for grilled eggplant caprese with mozerella and tomatoes (along with a oil-laden dressing that I modified …. unsuccessfully) so I decided to grill me some eggplant.

eggplant-pre-grill.jpg

Being new to the grill, I had some problems with the charcoals, and my grill ended up getting way hot, which meant my eggplants got overcooked. I also put too much salt on them, which, duh, made them too salty.

eggplants-grilled.jpgtrout-plus.jpg

In the end, the trout was good, but next time I will try it with a flakier white fish, either rainbow trout like the recipe calls for or something like flounder (I knew I should have gone with the flounder …. I felt it in my gut). All in all it was flavorful, just a little too oily. The eggplant in the caprese was completely too salty and my dressing was mediocre (I would call it bad but my husband liked it … it’s better when it’s with veggies and not on its own). Luckily I had lots of tomatoes and mozarella, so the lack of eggplant didn’t really make a difference. This just goes to show that sometimes recipes are made to be followed.

1 Response to “Trout with Shitake Mushrooms and Veggies, and Caprese”


  1. 1 darithyim February 22, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    That looks delicious! I love the mushroom, tomatoes, cilantro, garlic, and green onions combination =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

August 2007
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

