Lilly’s Dim Sum Then Some

Friday at lunch we decided to head to Lilly’s Dim Sum Then Some, an Asian restaurant I had always heard great things about but never had the opportunity to try. Located in a strip mall in the heart of the worst traffic in the world, the place is easy to miss, but it’s worth the trip.

Jay and I sat at a table towards the front of the Restaurant. It’s one of those places that fills up even though a lot of people aren’t there. The only bad thing I have to say about lunch is that the seating felt a little crowded, and some lady was talking so loud over my shoulder I almost got a headache.

For appetizers Jay and I ordered the Vietnamese spring rolls (the regular spring rolls are fried), which were very fresh and filled with crunchy vegetables. The dipping sauce was sweet but had a good, spicy kick at the end. For lunch I ordered the Pad Thai (I’m a real sucker for it), and Jay ordered the chicken with (red?) curry. My Pad Thai was good but definitely different from most that I’ve had: no peanuts sprinkled on top, and creamier with a different flavor profile (I think it was the coconut milk). The Pad Thai had both shrimp and chicken, but the shrimp were so small you barely noticed they were in there. Jay’s curry was very good and although spicy (for me at least) it was a deep, complex spice that let you eat more rather than searing your mouth. We passed up on dessert because we were too full, but the wanton sundae was very appealing, and we will surely be back some other time to try it. I also want fo finally break out of my Pad Thai fix and try something else. The service was very good and attentive, even when the lunch crunch hit.

0 Responses to “Lilly’s Dim Sum Then Some”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

