Weekday Fare

spinsalad2.jpg

A lot of people ask me, if you’re so into food, how do you stay so thin? Or, alternatively, how can you cook like this and stay in shape?

Usually I just kind of shrug and say, dunno, but really there’s a two-part answer. One: I’m pretty active and will go to the gym at least five days out of the week. Two: I don’t eat like it’s Thanksgiving every night. If I did, yeah, things would be different.

Basically, during the week I keep things pretty minimal. For one thing, I just don’t have the time to cook large and elaborate meals all the time. Second, I just plain can’t afford to buy all the ingredients that it takes to pull off one of my nice dinners. So usually I just keep it simple, and the simple things I happen to eat end up being pretty healthy: baby carrots, apples, sliced turkey, grapes, mushrooms, and spinach. Lots and lots of spinach.

spinsalad.jpg

I absolutely love portabello mushrooms, especially when they’ve been grilled. This quick and easy (not to mention healthy) recipe is one I make for myself a lot. The heat of the grilled mushroom slightly wilts the spinach and melts the goat cheese.

Spinach salad with grilled portabellos and goat cheese
Ingredients:
About half a bag of baby spinach (basically however much you want on your plate)
1 portabello mushroom
1 oz goat cheese (I liked herbed or tomato and basil myself)
2 Tbs low fat salad dressing (I use Newman’s Own Lighten Up! Low Fat Sesame Ginger)

Method:
Arrange spinach on a large plate. Top spinach with crumbled goat cheese. Spray a grill pan or saute pan with cooking spray (I use Pam for Grilling because it can take a lot of heat without smoking). Grill the portabello until juicy and tender, about 6-8 minutes each side. [Note: I frequently get impatient here. Generally I will cook it less on each side then cut the mushroom in the pan and grill each cut side until fully cooked.] Cut up mushroom into thin strips, then top the salad with the strips. Drizzle the salad with dressing.

Note: a lot of times I’ll just use regular small white mushrooms in my salad. They work just fine sliced up and grilled, but I really prefer the meaty-ness of the portabello.

spinsalad3.jpg

0 Responses to “Weekday Fare”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

