Cregeen’s Irish Pub: Complete Disappointment

Before I begin this review, I just want to note that I used to like Cregeen’s. In fact, I used to love it. But this Irish pub in Argenta has dealt the lethal blow, and I just don’t think I can go back. Ever. Again.

Like I said, I used to like Cregeen’s, so when I decided to take a break from studying and go out for a good, relaxed dinner, I decided on Cregeen’s. The place was crowded, as always, but we found a table immediately. The waitress was a little slow in getting to us, but hey, it was crowded.

We ordered an appetizer of the steemed mussels. I ordered the shrimp and scallop pasta, and Jay ordered the bangers and mash.

Some time went by. And more time. And more time. Until eventually we got our mussels, along with the rest of our dinner, brought out to us by a very unsure-looking runner. Um, excuse me, I thought I ordered the mussels as an appetizer? They were cold. But they were the best part of the meal.

Jay’s bangers and mash looked like they came right out of a cafeteria, and they didn’t taste much better either. Tiny bangers, mashed potatoes that looked like they came out of a box, and generic vegetables with no flavor. Jay said the bangers were supposed to be topped with a red wine demi glaze, but it was the same thing as the gravy on the potatoes.

As for my entree, I think they should relabel this item as “pasta soup.” There was so much sauce in the pasta that I thought I had ordered soup. It was rediculous. I ate the shrimp and the scallops out of the pasta, but the rest was inedible. Our waitress looked at me with suprise when I told her to take it back because I didn’t want it. Predictably, the manager came to my table soon after, and I told him it was just completely inedible. Then I made a comment about how I probably just ordered the wrong thing, considered I was at a bar, but really that’s no excuse.

Some of you might be saying, come on Jenny, you were at a freakin’ pub, give them a break. Fine fine, I give you that, but this food used to be good. Now, it just stinks. Please don’t advertise something if you can’t deliver. It’s just not fair to those who are ordering. When your menu lies, it’s just not acceptable, so don’t tell me I’m giving pub food a bad rap when it makes itself out to be more than it actually is. Furthermore, bring me my damn appetizer for my appetizer and don’t rely on some idiot pre-teen who brings everything out at once. If you think I’m being entirely unfair, then go there on a weeknight when a sports game is going on, and see what kind of food you get. Or, better yet, see if you get any food at all, considering the table next to mine hadn’t received any food by the time we left, even though we sat and ordered after them.

I used to like this place, but I think that the amount of business that the pub had been getting has been forcing the kitchen to cut corners, and it shows. Sloppy presentation, poor seasoning, too much sauce … there are plenty of busy bars with much better food than this. Oh, and terrible service that frankly doesn’t appear to care at all about how the food actually tastes, just so long as it gets out in front of you. I used to recommend this place, but now I’ve changed my tune: DON’T GO!!!!

In fact, go to Reno’s accross the street. The people serving food there actually care about you. Oh, and it’s a bar and their food is good.

Cregeen’s: never again.

4 Responses to “Cregeen’s Irish Pub: Complete Disappointment”


  1. 1 mcook98 December 21, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Thank you both for having a blog about local restaurants. Your comments and analysis are very insightful.

    Thanks again and please keep it up.

    Michael Cook

  2. 2 jayfarrar December 25, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    I agree on Cregeen’s.
    Had an awful lunch there and won’t be back.
    The place was packed, but I’ve been to crowded restaurants before and didn’t have similar problems.
    We had four at the table and not a single person got the correct order. The always comical plate exchange then took place as we mixed and matched to get close.
    It also took forever and by forever I mean a really long time. We didn’t go crazy though. The manager did come over and apologize for the delay at about the 45-minute mark. We were sitting near the kitchen and you can tell that they didn’t have enough people cooking to handle the rush.
    But, curiously, they had more than enough strippers, I mean servers and bartenders minding the front.
    Eye candy = good
    Poor service = bad
    Poor food = bad
    Cregeen’s = won’t be going back.

  3. 3 razorbackpete February 1, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    First of all, let me say my wife and I love Irish Pubs. We go to them in every city we visit, even if we know that they are a chain. If they look like they have a good atmosphere, we go. After all, Harp is Harp, right?

    That said, we had the unfortunate opportunity to go to Cregeen’s. Once. The food was straight off the back of a Sysco truck, and would have been right at home at Luby’s. You described the bangers and mash spot on, and the pork chops were dry and tasteless. The reuben sandwich was not bad, I will admit, but the whole experience was overshadowed by the poor inattentive service. And for god sakes, could they do something about the bright lighting and put some tchotchkes or something on the wall? We had the feeling we were at a bad imitation of something. Oh right, we were. Have not been back.

  4. 4 patsgirl February 13, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    The first time I went to Creegen’s, I’ll admit it. I was a little apprehensive and had no idea what I was walking into. My husband and father-in-law had been taken there by my brother-in-law, and my husband said I just had to try it.
    We shared the cheese dip and chips, and I had the fish and chips. He had the shepherd’s pie. I absolutely loved it –
    and the Razorback-LSU football game was on the TVs, so I felt like I belonged. When my husband finished his beer (1554), the waitress asked if we just wanted to hane out and watch some more of the game, and even offered my husband an iced tea on the house. We’ll definitely be going back, and I’m already thinking about the bangers and mash . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

