Sweep the Floor

irianas.jpg

While looking through food pictures for a new blog banner, I ran across some things I had photographed but never got around to blogging about. One of them is Iriana’s “sweep the floor” pizza.

Iriana’s is located on the bottom floor of a loft/office building in downtown Little Rock, across the street from the Statehouse Convention Center and just down the road from the bustling River Market. My first introduction to this pizza came on my birthday last year, and although I can’t afford (calorie-wise) to eat it all the time, a craving definitely sneaks up every once in a while. Jay and I always get the biggest size possible, sometimes eating it all at once, sometimes having some leftovers.

You could say that the sweep the floor is Irian’s version of the supreme, covered with pepperoni, canadian bacon, sausage, peppers, onions, mushrooms, and olives. Although the pizza is covered with yummy goodness, the dough itself is not neglected, and the crust is the perfect balance of chewy and crusty without being overwhelmed and soggy with toppings.

If you don’t think you can handle a whole pizza, Iriana’s has pizza available by the slice Monday through Friday, 11-2, perfect for those working types who want a quick lunch. Given Iriana’s proximity to downtown office buildings, it’s a good bet that it’s a favorite (I’ve always ventured there for dinner so I have no personal experience of the lunch crowd). There is a limited delivery area as well. As far as the service is concerned, Jay and I have always been very pleased every time we’ve visited, and the staff is very nice and attentive.

If you live in the Little Rock area or are just visiting, I highly recommend stopping by Iriana’s. They also have sandwiches and salads, along with great breadsticks.

2 Responses to “Sweep the Floor”


  1. 1 irrelevantstuff January 4, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Love your Blog! Have you tried pizza at Bruno’s Little Italy on Bowman Curve? Bruno was literally the 1st to serve Pizza in Arkansas back in the 40’s when he was discharged from Camp Robinson after The War. His family is from Naples, the birth place of pizza. The family history is listed at:
    http://www.brunoslittleitaly.com/
    It’s an interesting read. I highly recommend the sausage pizza, it’s like none I’ve ever encountered anywhere else so, if you don’t usually care for sausage pizza this isn’t that pie.
    Of course, Bruno’s is just a great value if you’re into Italian food. IMHO, no one does food better than the Italians!

  2. 2 lrfoodies January 4, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    I haven’t been to Bruno’s since I was a little girl when my parents took me (I remember my dad then saying it was the best Italian in town), but I’ve been meaning to go back for a while. Hearing about the pizza there gives me incentive to go! Thanks for the info 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

