Daring Bakers: Lemon Meringue Pie

 lm1.jpg

I am writing this coming off somewhat of a burnout as far as online food events are concerned. I participated in so many in the past couple of weeks that I’m honestly just tired of the kitchen. For me to say something like that …. well, I usually don’t.

In classing Jenny Robertson fashion, I waited until the last weekend to prepare my Daring Bakers creation, this time around a lemon meringue pie, but I wasn’t rushed. I was a little concerned that my meringue wouldn’t be quite as fluffy as I wanted, considering it was dreary and raining outside, but this time around my Daring Bakers challenge wasn’t filled with the anxiety that accompanied the yule log. Even though I had read about other bloggers problems with the crust being too soggy or the filling being too mushy, for some reason I knew that mine would be alright.

One of the options we had with this challenge was to make little lemon tartletts rather than a whole pie. I opted for this route, and although my tarts weren’t the most gorgeous-shaped things, I was really pleased with them. They had an almost ugly-duckling type appeal. My filling was nice and firm, my crust was perfect and flaky, and my merinque–while maybe not so high–was perfectly fluffy and divine. Right after taking the first batch out of the oven, Jay and I dove into the first two tartlets without even bothering to take a picture (I saved the picturesque ones for baking the second time around). Nice and warm, with the meringue slightly spongey and resisting, the filling firm yet smooth, and the crust flakey and crispy, the tarts were perfection. Sure, maybe I didn’t style mine and make them super fancy, but the taste was excellent. We even saved a couple of tarts for the next day–I was warry that they might get too soggy–and they were just as tasty. The fridge hardened the meringue to an almost marshmallow-like consistency, and the real tartness of the lemon really shined.

This is probably my last food challenge for a while, which will allow me to actually focus on my final semester of law school, but I think it was a great one to go out on. 🙂

lm2.jpg

lm3.jpg

2 Responses to “Daring Bakers: Lemon Meringue Pie”


  1. 1 sydneyblue January 30, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Lovely to look at. Mouth-wateringly tempting … (I may get to taste some lemon meringue tarts at a food tasting this weekend — now I’m anxious to do so!)

  2. 2 cookiedoc February 3, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Just beautiful! I hope you continue to do DB challenges when you get breaks from law school stuff. My roommate is in her second year and is continuously reading…not something I envy, I’d much rather be at the hospital with sick people! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
All posts and images copyright 2008 & 2009 Jenny Robertson, unless otherwise specified. All rights reserved. Any use of images without prior written consent is prohibited.
daring bakers

